Skip to content

Welcome To The Mother Church Of Country Music

October 3, 2009

WSMOpry

The Grand Ole Opry is more than just a radio show on WSM Radio.  It is more than just the reminder of what classic country is all about as a musical genre.  It more than a marketing strategy for business people.  It is more than a vacation destination for families across the nation.  While it is true that each of these are a part of the longest running radio show in the world, there is a larger and deeper aspect to this place where “the big red curtain goes up” on performances each weekend.  In reality, this place of memories and music in Nashville, Tennessee is actually a slice of Americana, a national treasure, an institution that deserves respect and continued recognition.

It is my attempt to keep the Opry memories alive and fresh which propel me onwards in starting this blog.  In the days and months to come this site will wipe the dust off  memories and recast them in new ways to capture a new audience of Opry fans.  It is my hope that long-time fans of the Opry will find this place a source of pride as it pays homage to the past.  But just as surely this blog will move ever forward with news and music about the new faces that grace the Opry stage who are intent on keeping the orginal spirit of the Opry alive.  There will be pictures and videos, memories and music, all presented in a fashion that will keep the Grand Ole Opry in our lives and hearts.  Book mark this site now, as it will be updated daily.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bill permalink
    October 5, 2009 12:39 am

    When we were very young, we had a tube radio that barely pulled in the 8th St. Theater Barn Dance out of Chicago. We (four of us at the time) all sat on or next to my mother in the old glider rocker and listened to Bob Atcher and the Cowhands and Lullabelle and Scotty as well as Minnie Pearl and several others as they entertained us every Saturday.

  2. October 5, 2009 10:03 pm

    Dear Bill:

    I have always loved the Grand Old Opry and my grandmother and I used to watch it every Saturday night. As a Singer/Songwriter, I was very influenced by Porter Wagoner, Dolly Parton and all the artists that appeared on it. Happy Birthday and hope I will be able to appear there one day!

  3. October 6, 2009 9:14 pm

    I hope you get to the Opry too! Quite often as I walk or drive my mind will wander as I am listening to a certain song. It is then I will think about what it might be like to have the experience of walking out onto that stage. I have no talent that will ever allow me to do that, but when I think about those such as you with potential it makes me know the Opry has many great years ahead of it. All the best! (When you get there let me know, as I would love to have a backstage pass!)

  4. Vincent permalink
    October 8, 2009 9:38 pm

    I remember cutting through the back stage area, against orders from my stage manager, of the Grand Old Opry when I worked at Opryland one summer many years ago. The theme park is now closed and gone, but the opry house still stands. When my parents came to visit, we went to the old Ryman Auditorium, the original home of the Opry, in downtown Nashville, and had a nice time even though none of us are into country music

Leave a Reply

